Centrifugal Oil Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oscar

Guru
Vessel Name
Lady Kay V
Vessel Make
1978 Hatteras 53MY
The boat I will likely get into in the next two years will probably have two large diesels.... we're talking 30 gallons of oil in the DD-8V71 for instance.

Does anyone use centrifugal oil filters? Either continuous installed on the engine, or free standing to clean the oil on regular intervals?

Lubricity far outlives the capacity of the oil to contain contaminants, and cleaning the oil can increase change intervals....

Thanks.

Wow, 30 gal. Is that per engine, or for two?

I’m far from an oil expert but I gather one of the things you need to monitor via sample testing for extended oil changes is the TBN number in the oil. I think it’s the additive package level, but I’m sure others will be able to saw with more conviction.

I can also say that my new Scania engine has a factory centrifuge for the oil, and the engine has a 500hr change interval with no special oil requirement beyond standard oil specs.

OTR trucks have this system , Google .

They operate when the engine is running.

The boat I will likely get into in the next two years will probably have two large diesels.... we're talking 30 gallons of oil in the DD-8V71 for instance.

Does anyone use centrifugal oil filters? Either continuous installed on the engine, or free standing to clean the oil on regular intervals?

Lubricity far outlives the capacity of the oil to contain contaminants, and cleaning the oil can increase change intervals....

Thanks.

Oil change volumes and frequency required for older 2 stroke DDs is one of many reasons industrial users bailed out on them decades ago, even before emissions hit. For a 100 annual hours per year marine use not so much an issue. Just work, cost and suitable onboard storage.