Old 07-17-2020, 03:50 PM   #61
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
wow...for anyone thinking of going through the process....as a former instructor and small vessel pro captain for a couple decades......I suggest viewing most of this thread with a grain of salt.

Way too much bad info to take seriously. Sure there is good info...but double check everything.

Go with a setup like Sea School or a Maritime Academy and carefully read their literature.

When I was an instructor...I was amazed at how little the students retained just a few years out of the course...both subject matter and license/ vessel requirements.
psneeld is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 05:48 PM   #62
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Sandpiper
Vessel Model: Bluewater 40 Pilothouse Trawler
Quote:
Originally Posted by psneeld View Post
wow...for anyone thinking of going through the process....as a former instructor and small vessel pro captain for a couple decades......I suggest viewing most of this thread with a grain of salt.

Way too much bad info to take seriously. Sure there is good info...but double check everything.

Go with a setup like Sea School or a Maritime Academy and carefully read their literature.

When I was an instructor...I was amazed at how little the students retained just a few years out of the course...both subject matter and license/ vessel requirements.
Many threads on TF have incorrect info and advice I would not follow. It's up to the person reading the thread to determine what is fact and what is BS.

There is a lot of good information available on TF but the reader has to find them.
syjos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 06:12 PM   #63
Dauntless Award

City: Wrangell, Alaska
Vessel Name: Dauntless
Vessel Model: Kadey Krogen 42 - 148