Old 03-15-2021, 10:19 PM   #1

City: Mason
Vessel Name: Marooned
Vessel Model: Ranger Tug R-27
Can a 25'-27' Tug replace an RV to live on land & sea?

I'm a newbie to this forum. Been sailing the Great Lakes for over 20 years. Now considering a Tug to use both on waters out West and to live on it like an RV when traveling to various bodies of water for 3 to 6 months.
Am I just trying to convince myself that this is doable to justify the Tug?
Has anyone accomplished this feat successfully?

Any advice is welcome,
Ken
msu1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 10:25 PM   #2

City: Sheridan
Vessel Name: Ethos of the T
Vessel Model: 26 Sedan Tollycraft
https://www.rangertugs.com/
trihartsfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2021, 11:31 PM   #3

City: NW Washington State
Vessel Name: Kingfisher
Vessel Model: 37' converted gillnetter/crabber
Hi Ken,

Sure, a 25-27 footer...a "pocket trawler"...can easily be a comfortable home and coastal cruiser. It is not unusual for folks to select a trailerable trawler for greater mobility and flexibility in using it as an RV. It's a great way for a smaller boat to explore western Canada or Alaska one season, then the Sea of Cortez the next. Though I have certainly lived aboard similar sized boats, I don't have personal experience with using them as an RV, but am aware of a few considerations. The black water tank won't be equipped for gravity dump like an RV would, so you would want to plan for that, perhaps by using a cassette toilet...like a port-a-potty. Similarly, your gray water likely would require a tank or perhaps re-plumbing to the black water tank if you decide that it's something you can deal with emptying while ashore. Of course, with portable pumpout stations becoming more common, visiting a marina, even without putting the boat in the water, might be an option for that occasional purpose.