Calder or Gerr?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Pacific Myst
Vessel Make
West Bay 4500
Your thoughts please on the better book to study?

Nigel Calder's Boatowners Mechanical and Electrical Manual?
or
Dave Gerr's Boat Mechanical System's Handbook?

Maybe both?

I'm far from a newbie having been on heavy duty work boats all my life. But I'm finding yacht / recreational boat systems to be enough different I could uses more info.

Thank you in advance!

You will use the Calder book over and over. The Gerr book gives some good background to the issues, and is recommended, but the Calder book is a very valuable DIY guide.

If my budget was for only two books, I'd go with Calder and then Gerr's "The Nature of Boats"

Calder has a unique capability of explaining boat systems simply and succinctly. His bio says that he worked as a boat mechanic, but in recent years he has been mostly a writer.

Dave Gerr writes with a solid grounding in theory and practice. Maybe now, he like Calder has written more than he has done.

I think they are both very good.

David

I like both, but hate that more books are not available as E-books!

I've offered to convert a few to E-books but that's copyright infringement... I don't like windows with bars.

And, when people do make an e-book version, price it lower than the printed version! I know what printing a book costs (especially a short run book), so e-books save the author lots of money, and there is no inventory taxes for hanging onto printed copies year after year. It's a better way to go!

Last edited:
hate that more books are not available as E-books!

I've tried to like E-Books but I enjoy the charts, maps, diagrams and photos that many books have in them and they don't seem to translate well to E-Books, at least the ones I've read.

I do like the ability to carry 347 books in one hand rather than many boxes.