boat hauling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

detmcpat

Vessel Name
SlowRide
Vessel Make
Albin 33 Classic
I'm new to the big boat world. I am planning to buy a trawler 34' to 37' most likely. I used to own a small Marina on small waters and am familiar with servicing boats. I have entertained finding my boat, having it sea trialed and then having it hauled home for any repairs or renovating that I may choose to take on before embarking on any adventures. Anyone have any knowledge about boat haulers or how expensive that kind of service is?

In 1997 we purchased a Pilgrim 40 in Tampa Bay. Had it shipped across country to Seattle. Had to take everything off the upper deck to get under the height limits. It was still a "wide load" so required pilot trucks in some states. Cost at that time was a bit over $12,000. I'm sure costs have gone up.

boat hauler

Thanks for the information. I think the beam will be under 13' but not sure. I'm also not sure if I will look around the Great Lakes or Florida. My preference would be the Lakes in hopes of finding a fresh water boat and also the distance is considerably less for the transport. If anyone knows or a reputable company that I may contact for a quote I would greatly appreciate it. Being a newbie is always a clumsy affair and I am certainly trying to feel my way around. Glad there is help out there.

As I've mentioned in the past we had our GB36 trucked from Alameda, CA to Tacoma, WA in 1998. We used one of the best marine trucking companies in the west, at least, although they may cover the rest of the country as well. The company is Associated Trucking. They, and I'm sure other marine haulers, use a special trailer that drops the forefoot of the hull almost to the pavement. This reduces the overall height of the load.