Old 02-01-2019, 04:36 PM   #1

City: Toledo
Vessel Name: Nevermore
Vessel Model: Marine Trader Tradewinds 38
Smile Communications While Docking

Having just purchased a Marine Trader Tradewinds 38 trawler my wife and I are wondering about docking communication. I will be on the fly-bridge and she will be on deck. Any suggestions for making our communication clear, except for yelling louder?

I have 40 years sailing experience, and she has 25. We enjoyed racing and cruising our 36 foot sloop around the Great Lakes together these last 18 years. We just want to be prepared for the spring launch when we depart fully under power.

All advice is appreciated.
cantal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 05:14 PM   #2

City: St James City/Punta Gorda
Vessel Name: Charlie Noble
Vessel Model: 32 Nordic Tug
Save your Marriage

Here, take a look at this thread. It is only one of many that have touched on this subject.

http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s...ers-39912.html
Old 02-01-2019, 05:26 PM   #3
Guru

City: Quebec
Vessel Name: Bleuvet
Vessel Model: Custom Built
With time we communicate less and less while docking. She knows what she has to do, I am doing what I have to do and look at her from the flybridge, most of the time the communication is limited to some signs or very few words.

L
Lou_tribal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2019, 05:28 PM   #4
Guru

City: San Diego
Vessel Name: Circuit Breaker
Vessel Model: 2021..22' Duffy Cuddy cabin
Several boats in our marina use these. Sena Expand...we have a pair and love them!

https://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/...CABEgJdLPD_BwE
Attached Thumbnails
Sena Expand.png  
Old 02-01-2019, 05:37 PM   #5
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
Vessel Model: Monk 36
Non hardware related:
- agree on hand signals before docking. You can practice anywhere.