Best books to self educate

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Btequine

Vessel Name
Shearwater
Vessel Make
Trawler
Hi, I’m new to boating, just bought my first 40’er this year. What are the best printed materials for learning? I need everything from boat schematics, part names, to basic weather reading. I know there’s gotta be some good informative books out there. I figured I’d self educate while this quarantine is on then I can move my boat to Valdez from Whittier,AK.

Look for books by Nigel Calder (for the boat) and Steve Dashew (for the weather). Chapmans is great for understanding operation and navigation.

Figured I'd make it easier for ya...

Dashew books are free: https://setsail.com/free-books/

Calder's best book is "Boatowner's Electrical and Mechanical Manual" Every cabin boat owner should own this book, IMO.

Chapmans Piloting, Seamanship and Small Boat Handling. Every boat owner should own this book, IMO.

Last edited:
The USA TODAY WEATHER BOOK is a good starting place. IMO it is easy for the beginner to understand, contains a lot of good graphics.
The US Sail & Power Squadron... aka Americas Boating Club Wx course is also worthwhile and uses many of the USA Today book graphics.

Calder's books (there are several) are an absolute requirement IMO. They are written simply to be understood by anyone. There are several books covering engines, mechanical and electrical etc.

We also keep Chapmans Seamanship and Small Boat handling on board as it has useful diagrams etc for guests learning to sail our dinghy, cloud analysis and weather forecasting and much more.

~Alan

Yes the aforementioned Chapman's, along with Calder's " Boat Owner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual" are must haves and will occupy a lot of reading time. Once you start boating, you'll come back to them frequently.