bending/cutting copper tube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

seattleboatguy

Vessel Name
Slow Bells
Vessel Make
Marine Trader 38
My forced air diesel heater came with 3/16" OD copper tube for the fuel line. I've never worked with this stuff before. It shipped in a 12" diameter roll. Can I put a smaller radius bend in the tube without having to buy some kind of exotic pipe bender gizmo? I watched a YouTube video about working with copper tube, and they used a tube cutter that scored the tube around and around until it broke off. Is that way better than a hacksaw? And, it looks like I also need to buy something to de-burr the newly cut end, right?

A brake tube bender is <$15 at orielly auto parts Handles 1/8, 3/16, and 1/4 tube.
Tubing cutter is the tool to use. All but the cheapest have a deburr attachment.

Last edited:
Don't use anything but a tubing cutter; they are inexpensive and easy to use. Debur tool should be built in. There are a few ways to bend the tubing correctly. I have a couple of different tools for that and both were inexpensive. Google "brake line bender" and "tubing bender springs" for ideas. The goal is to not kink the stuff.

To expand a bit on High Wire's post above, a set of tubing benders that will do a medium radius bend can be bought for about $11. See https://www.amazon.com/Superior-Too...1548949584&sr=8-9&keywords=copper+tube+bender

A tubing cutter is much better than a hacksaw and is essential if you are putting a flare on the tube. Here is one for $13: https://www.amazon.com/RIDGID-32975...548949726&sr=8-6&keywords=copper+tube+cutters. If it doesn't have a deburring blade, just use a screw driver blade or knife to take out the burrs.