Bayliner 32’s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Browny

Veteran Member
I’ve been strolling TF for a few months reading everyone’s posts, on pretty much every topic. I’m looking to jump out of a runabout boat for something my young family, kids at ages 5/3/-6 months, can enjoy short jaunts on for weekend getaways in Lake Erie and Ontario through 1000 islands.

I would obviously love to jump into a forever boat but at the moment it’s not an option. Every time I read a post regarding the 30’s and 40 footer late 80’s early 90’s MY’s, everyone has generally nothing but great things to say about them. I’m sure it can’t all be pro’s so I’d like to pick your brains on any cons I may not be thinking of.

I’ve recently been looking at a freshwater 3270, 1986 with twin 135 Hino diesels, with under 1000 hours on them. I’ve read the hulls are built very well, interior layout is great bang for the buck, hino’s are all but bullet proof and very efficient, seems to have ample space for everyone sleeping and has a range enough for what we would need/want at the moment.

Anything I should be noting in regards to 3270/3288 models? Is there a 1000 hour massive Maintenance around the corner, electronic issues (plan to replace radar/AP), material/workmanship issues etc, seaworthiness are slow speeds (plus is these can cruise at 14ish),...... anything?

I understand that this isn’t a trawler but I don’t think there another platform to get raw feedback anywhere else, like you can on TF. Any input on these series of boats, positive or negative, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much.

I live in Bayliner country in the PNW.

The hulls are built well and they are old enough that PO's have upgraded extensively.

I believe Hino parts are getting hard to locate.

Lack of an actual shower compartment is a minus.