Any thoughts on my bilge pump setup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Speedy Charlotte
Vessel Make
Beneteau Swift Trawler 44
On my Beneteau Swift Trawler 44 I have the factory bilge setup. Although I am a novice, it seems pretty subpar to me.

I have one 300 gph pump located on a plumbing board with a tube that runs to the very bottom of the keel to pump out water sitting on the very bottom of the bilge.

I have one 650 gph Whale Supersub Smart 650 pump mounted about 8 inches or so above where the pickup tube from the other pump is.

Both of the above pumps are located in the Engine Room toward the middle of the boat and along the centerline.

That's all there is. Seems completely inadequate for a 44 foot boat.

There is no pump in the lazarette. There is no pump in the bow section where the bow thruster is.

Seems like one potential upgrade is to simply locate a very high-capacity pump just about where the Whale is now.

I did ask the yard about adding one in each section and they said "no one really does that as most people don't want 3 new holes in their boat".

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Mike

It does seem the builder fell short. I have 3 1500gph dc pumps plus a 3000gph ac. Rather be safe than sorry.

I did ask the yard about adding one in each section and they said "no one really does that as most people don't want 3 new holes in their boat".

Hi Mike, you could have reminded the "professional" shipyard staff that it is generally recommended to put the new holes above the waterline :ermm:

When spec'ing out additional pumps make sure to confirm how many watertight compartments you have. Check for limber holes (that may be clogged). Sometimes there is only 1 WT chamber, with everything draining to the engineroom bilge.

"The best bilge pump is a scared man with a bucket"