Aft versus Forward Cabin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pluto

Vessel Name
Hot Shot
Vessel Make
Mainship 390
Greetings,

We plan to start seriously looking at boats in about a year when the wife retires from teaching. One thing I have not been able to find on this site is a discussion of the pro's and con's of a forward berth versus aft. It seems to me a forward cabin, like in a Mainship 390, would have more movement and be subjected to anchor line tugs while an aft cabin would be much more serene. Then again since i have no experience i may be totally wrong.

Comments?

Oooo.... Neat subject... I love aft cabins and doubt we'll ever own a boat without one. However, in OUR case, Skinny Dippin' has some pretty hard chines that slap loudly even in mild conditions. For some, it's serene and settling. For other like myself, it keeps me awake. I suppose every boat is different and I am not an expert on boats other than ours. We would probably be ok in a full walk-around queen V-Berth, but we have looked at other boat on YachtWorld and boats in the size we can afford don't have a V-Berth big enough for us to feel comfortable. Aft staterooms feel more like bedrooms and hardly move at anchor. While I hate to say it this way, I want to feel more like we're in a hotel or condo versus feeling like we're on a boat. It's very nice.

Last edited:
Greetings,
Mr. P. Start seriously looking NOW. The more time you spend looking the more time you will have to refine your search PLUS, a few extra weekends away with the Mrs. is ALWAYS a good thing!

Greetings,
Mr. P. Start seriously looking NOW. The more time you spend looking the more time you will have to refine your search PLUS, a few extra weekends away with the Mrs. is ALWAYS a good thing!

I agree, there's no reason not to start looking as soon as possible. The larger boat shows are a good place to look.