'88 Chung Hwa 44' Trawler - input?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moc4

Vessel Name
Jackpot
Vessel Make
Bayliner 2855
We are starting to plan for retirement. We've been boaters all our lives. Sailors since in our teens, and powerboats and jetski's :facepalm: lately for our teenagers. But now we are 4-5 years from retirement and like so many, we have "Great Loop" on the brain! While I'm new to looking at trawlers, and am just now starting to read Skipper Bob and other books, I'm looking for the boat we can afford, afford to run, and will be comfortable on for long trips (1+ years??).

I saw this trawler and I know others on her have looked at, and own, these thaiwanese boats. This one looks well maintained, gorgeous interior, but of course we need to get serious and have a survey. Before I go that far, travel, etc., what are the forum thoughts, key word searches, to learn more about Thai built trawlers?

1988 44' CHUNG HWA Seamaster Trawler, Sarasota FL FL, Listing 100717937

Greetings,
Welcome aboard. ER pictures should show you the REAL maintenance regime. None in the listing. And....Volvo diesels (don't like them personally). Are they built in Thailand or China (Taiwan)? I don't know anything about Thai boats.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

The Chung Hwa's were built in Taiwan. Chung Hwa Boats is more famously known as CHB. CHB's were later made in China. I suspect the name is no longer used and they have morphed into some other brand.

Be leery of the Volvo engines. There is a CHB Seamaster 44' in Stuart for sale and one of the Volvo engines is toast. I think the owner blew a rod and ruined the engine.

The pics of the boat you are looking at look like it is a well cared for boat but having good hull and engine surveys are the acid test. It is a real plus not to have teak decks on these 30 year old boats. Check for leaks around the windows.