Old 10-16-2022, 07:59 PM   #1

City: pawtucket
36 or 42 GB classic single or twins?

Im a noob yes, ive been out of the water for a bit over 20yrs. But ive been on the water with friends and some work here and there (yes im an auto mechanic and specialize in electrical)

Ill be purchasing a GB within the next month. Ive got about 6-8 to go and check out all over. (east coast to the missi to florida to maine)

My question is this, ive been aboard both and im wondering what people think of those 2 and what comparisons there are between the 2. I know people will tell me what about a marine trader or whater,,, Doc gave me a certain amount of time so i dont have time. Please skip the "if you get this model or that model youll get this and that" im getting a 36 or 42 gb classic. PERIOD!!

Im not much of pack rat and i dont really make messes. I will be 99.9% solo on all my runs (possible loop journey for my last hurrah)

Ive been lurking on here for a few months and things are getting serious with me now so i got to get the ball rolling. Your opinions on fuel between the single and twin. Maintenance and working on the twins between the 36 and 42. I replaced a port starter on an early 80's and it wasnt too fun but not too bad. but still a pain.

Wondering what the differences are between the singles and twins while underway. I know the docking aspect of them,,, if i get a single 100% bow thruster. Ive got the boats kinda lined up already. All late 70's and early 80's.

My only real fear is the fuel tanks. I know they are expensive to replace. There is an 85 that im looking at that the owner told me he gets his scoped every year to get a good idea on how well his tank is holding up. Any info on this would be much appreciated as well. (my opinion is thats a tough call either way but what do i know)