240vac split phase for oven

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ray.Yager

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
MV RADIANT
Vessel Make
1991 Carver Californian MY 4809
240vac split phase for HOB

Ok. I’m not an electrician, and I know enough to be dangerous here. I’m going to replace my old (1991) Origo 4-burner radiant HOB with a new induction 4-burner unit. But, I have to pull a 240vac line to the galley and put a 2-pole 30-amp breaker in the panel. Yes, I have 50 amp 240 split phase power to my panel. The old HOB used 110vac, so this line has to be abandoned.

The challenge is to find 10/4 marine tinned cable. I have spent two days looking with no bueno.

Any ideas of where to look?

Last edited:
It doesn't have to be tinned. My former house size stove/oven had no-tinned cable. When I pulled it out, it was in excellent shape after 50 years.
You could run tinned 3 wire and a separate ground wire Or you can buy tinned small battery cables.

I wouldn't worry about tinned, stranded marine wire. It may not be available in 10/4 cable. Just run a romex type 10/4 cable from the new panel breaker to the new stove.

Or you could buy a 10/4 extension cord which would at least give you stranded cable, but not marine tinned. But I think I would prefer solid core cable as it would not be affected much by salt air corrosion.

David

David

I wouldn't worry about tinned, stranded marine wire. It may not be available in 10/4 cable. Just run a romex type 10/4 cable from the new panel breaker to the new stove.

Or you could buy a 10/4 extension cord which would at least give you stranded cable, but not marine tinned. But I think I would prefer solid core cable as it would not be affected much by salt air corrosion.

The cable MUST be stranded. Solid conductor on a boat is a no-go. But as long as the ends are well sealed, non-tinned would be acceptable.