Old 03-20-2021, 07:39 AM   #1
Guru

City: Stratford, CT
Vessel Name: Blue Moon
Vessel Model: Mainship Pilot 355
AK Cruise

Considering a bareboat guided tour from NW Explorations known as the Mother Goose tours. Any feedback, suggestions, experience would be appreciated. Most likely on a well-maintained Grand Banks mid to upper 40' range. I have lots of boating experience but not with twin engines or a power boat this size, but am not intimidated.
Old 03-20-2021, 09:18 AM   #2

City: Lynden
Vessel Name: Joint Venture
Vessel Model: 1978 GlasPly 2800 mid cabin
I know this charter company very well and have a very close friend work for them. Very reputable company with very clean and well maintained charter fleet, Are you doing the Bellingham to Sitka leg of the trip? You will be in good hands for the complete trip and have an amazing time with awesome memories.
Old 03-20-2021, 09:29 AM   #3
Guru

City: Gooding ID/Wrangell AK
Vessel Name: Silver Bay
Vessel Model: Nordic Tug 42-002
We see them once or twice most summers. Kind of hard to miss when you see a line of 4 or more AIS targets in trail on the NAV display. I have seen them leaving Sitka and Ketchikan most recently. From Sitka they seem to be heading around the west side of Chichagof Is which is a pretty wild place with some tight navigation if you want to avoid longer stretches of open water exposing you swells on the beam.

Tom
tpbrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2021, 09:31 AM   #4
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill V View Post
I know this charter company very well and have a very close friend work for them. Very reputable company with very clean and well maintained charter fleet, You will be in good hands for the complete trip.