Trim tabs on Trawlers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jclays

Vessel Name
Freebird
Vessel Make
1997 Mainship 350
Good morning
I'm new to trawlers coming from faster gas boats and still looking for my 38 aft cabin. In the mean time I am asking questions just because I don't know. Do Trawlers utilize trim tabs? I understand the Californians to be hard chined and flatter as you get towards the stern. More of a semi-planing hull. Would they benefit at all from trim tabs?
Thanks
Jim

A trawler with enough power to plane would, but I doubt it would matter on any trawler that has power to only do 8-10K WOT.

Ken

Most true trawlers run at 7-8 knots. I don't think tabs would work at those speeds.

A large enough trim tab will effect the trim on even a full displacement hull, but those hulls don't usually lend themselves to enough real transom to make them work.

On Semi-Displacement hulls like thee olde Mainship to the left, absolutely they work very well. They need to be on the large size to account for the slower speed, but they trim the vessel fore to aft and port to starboard and help the vessel get on plane and stay on plane at lower speeds

:socool:

A large enough trim tab will effect the trim on even a full displacement hull, but those hulls don't usually lend themselves to enough real transom to make them work.

On Semi-Displacement hulls like thee olde Mainship to the left, absolutely they work very well. They need to be on the large size to account for the slower speed, but they trim the vessel fore to aft and port to starboard and help the vessel get on plane and stay on plane at lower speeds

:socool:

If you don’t have the power to plane they are useless

Agree on both counts.