Making a cover?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wkearney99

Guru
Vessel Name
Solstice
Vessel Make
Grand Banks 47 Eastbay FB
Anyone made a cover for a dinghy? Getting a factory one isn't going to happen, and local providers seem to have taken a pretty radical increase in their pricing.

I have one I liked for the Avon 310 that's being replaced, so I have a reasonably good idea of what sort of placement for things is worth repeating (lining over handles, outboard, etc).

I have zero experience making a template for something this big. Any tips? Horror stories?

I've got access to a Sailrite machine, and a friend that's good with running it.

Check Sailrites website for boat cover projects. They have several that are pretty detailed.

I bought a sailrite machine. Dinghy cover is my next project. Have made a number of other covers and the savings just on my window covers paid for the machine. It is not that hard, their videos are great and it is kind of fun.

I second looking at Sailrite videos... there are many very helpful..
Do some practicing if you havent used the Sailrite machine before..
For patterning
Some spring clips and/ or tape are handy to hold plastic roughly in place to start. By cutting a "V" shape in the plastic you can tape anywhere in the middle you want. When done simply lift the pattern and fold the V back in place to eliminate tape sticking to anything when no longer needed.
Helpful to have a picture or vision of how you think the cover should look e.g. One piece including the outboard or dingy separate from an outboard cover...

Get some heavy plastic sheet and try to fit it to the dingy. A plier stapler https://www.homedepot.com/p/Arrow-Plier-Type-Stapler-P22/100196410