Old 06-22-2021, 07:26 AM   #1
Guru

City: Jupiter, Florida
Vessel Name: Black Eyed Susan
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 42' Classic
Upper gauges not working

My flybridge oil pressure and temp gauges stopped working, tach and amp are fine. Checked the lower helm and all is good there. I am gauge challenged but I think that the senders go to the lower helm and then are daisy-chained up to the FB rather than separate senders on my 1987 FL SP135's. Any known suspect issues I should look for? My plan is to crawl back under the FB dash (always fun in Florida at this time of the year) and try to follow the wires to see what I find. With both oil pressure and temp going at once, there has to be some common factor or connection but I have no experience with how they are wired. Any comments appreciated!
firstbase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 07:50 AM   #2

City: Lynden
Vessel Name: Joint Venture
Vessel Model: 1978 GlasPly 2800 mid cabin
Both oil pressure and water temp gauges will have a common source of 12v power to activate them. My guess is a poor connection someplace. You'll need someone to watch the two gauges after you have turned on the ignition switch to see if they start working while you check connections under the dash at all points where 12v power should be. Generally 12v power comes from ignition switch and is "daisy chained" from each guage to the next. Many boats use sensors that are designed for two gauges to work from. Don't know if GB's does that or individual sensors for each gauge.
Old 06-22-2021, 08:54 AM   #3
Guru

Thanks, Bill. At some point, I will remember "simple things first". I would think that a power source would be the only thing they have in common but....there I go thinking again.
Old 06-22-2021, 09:01 AM   #4

City: Lynden
Vessel Name: Joint Venture
Vessel Model: 1978 GlasPly 2800 mid cabin
Quote:
Originally Posted by firstbase View Post