Old 10-13-2021, 01:28 AM   #1

City: West Vancouver, BC
Vessel Name: Unicorn V
Vessel Model: 1981 Grand Banks 36CL
Splicing domestic water hose

Our 1981 36CL has the original rigid black plastic domestic water piping. Fearful of opening a can of worms over the years I have avoided tampering with it. However there are some projects I would like take on which mean cutting into the pipe. I really do not want to re plumb.
Are there fittings available (I think of Shark bite) which allow adding Pex hose for instance.

Unicorn V
JMcJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 02:14 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard. I absolutely hate working on plumbing since I am not good at it and it always leaks. But with Shark Bite fitting you will probably ba able to do what you need to. Before you cut any I would get an accurate measurement of the OD and go to a real plumbing store and ask if they have fittings that will work. Good luck.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 03:08 AM   #3
Guru

City: st pete
Vessel Model: 430 Mainship
Yes, measure twice, cut once and get the right fitting. And know it it's mm or inches. There are several sizes that are so close it's hard to tell them apart. In a lot of water systems, it's common to find 15mm tubing and 1/2 fittings in the same system.

As for finding a good plumbing store that knows there stuff... good luck. Those guys are disappearing. Ain't gonna find it at Home Depot. I've had better luck calling the techs at the manufacturer.

I could make an argument, if adding a line, to replace it with SeaTech. However, sometimes you just can't find a fitting or part that makes it compatible and have to use a Fernco fitting to make it work.

SeaTech tech support is very good.
Old 10-13-2021, 06:54 AM   #4
Guru

City: Toms River
Vessel Name: V E N T U R E
Vessel Model: 1996 36' Island Gypsy Classic