Old 07-06-2012, 08:41 PM   #1
afc

City: Destin, fl.
49 GB vs 47 GB

Hi, I will just get to it here: I have been boating for 45 years in various sport fishing boats, but now at 66 my wife and I would like to make the journey about the trip itself and not so much the destination. With that said we are considering a 1985 49' GB," FIVE STAR" and a 2007 47' GB, "CHANGES". we live in Destin,Fl. so our trips will start with the first 250 NM with pretty much a beam sea. My wife has had lower abdominal surgery so the ride is important, although she is in good health now. I have no info on the ride of the 47 as I am aware it has a redesigned hull. so 17 knots cruise is available when needed whereas the 49 is 9 to 11 knots. I am hoping to get some good information from owners instead of brokers. I would greatly appreciate any advise and suggestions. Thanks
afc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 08:07 AM   #2
Guru

Without stabilizers, a beam sea of any consequence (3-4'+) will be no fun. I had the (dis)pleasure of transporting a 49' Defever through about 24 hrs of this a couple of yrs ago. It had been a livaboard for 8 straight yrs and the owner hadn't really readied the salon for the trip! I caught 3 steep close 4'ers full on the beam when rounding a point, things got "rearranged" to say the least, and the ride in the pilothouse even made my wife's eyes get big. I wouldn't have wanted to be on the flybridge. This boat had no stabilizers of any sort though. I was really surprised at how violently it responded to such waves for such a heavy boat. However, the intracoastal is pretty nice up in your neck of the woods. The only really open water you'd have to take into acct is from Carrabelle to Clearwater.

If you can afford the fuel though the 47 at planing speed would certainly ride better as it would have more inertia with which to resist the waves' forces.
twiisted71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:13 AM   #3
afc