best engine for GB 42

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bcarli

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Pandion
Vessel Make
Nordhavn 46
Hi
This maybe another "how long is a piece of string" question...but I wonder if there is a more desirable engine for a 42 then others. Our intent is to take it slow enjoy the ride. It seems to me from what I have read that you can not beat a Lehman 120....
thanks
bill

My vote is for the Lehman 120. But I have no experience with any other engines so that may not have much value.

The Puget Sound Grand Banks rendezvous in is Roche Harbor next Thursday-Saturday. There will be about 75 boats there. You could swing by and talk to a few folks about their boats and engines.

Post which engines you are finding in boats you are considering. Most of them will do fine in trawler speed service.

Hi
This maybe another "how long is a piece of string" question...but I wonder if there is a more desirable engine for a 42 then others. Our intent is to take it slow enjoy the ride. It seems to me from what I have read that you can not beat a Lehman 120....
thanks
bill

The Lehman 120 is fine for the kind of cruising you plan to do. Other common engines found in GB42s are the Cat 3208na and the marine derivative of the Cummins 5.9. Both fine engines.

The important part is how the engines were serviced during their lifetimes. Any neglected engine could give you problems. The truth of the maintenance record is at the mercy of the seller! A one point oil sample, for example, can't be 100% trusted because it could have been sampled a short time after an oil change.

Look at the engine hours. It will be comforting to see about 150 hours per year on the engines.