Technautic/Holland bow thruster

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bmallett

Vessel Make
34 Mainship
Hello. A newbie here..first post. I recently acquired a 1978 34 Mainship with a bow thruster that I assume is original. It’s a Technautic from Holland, it works and appears visually to be in good shape. I’ve never had one and don’t have the owners manual. It seems to kick into overload after a short run time and take a while to recover. Can anyone tell me how to check if it’s operating properly? When it quits the motor is a little warm but by no means hot. Diver checked out prop and tunnel and said it was ok. Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome aboard. Most electric thrusters have a overload thermal sensor and will cut out until it cools. Mine will run about 3 minutes and then cut out. One thing that is critical is voltage. Make sure that you are getting good voltage to the motor. Check connections for corrosion. Also make sure the wiring is heavy enough, many thrusters are installed with under size wiring.

Thanks Comodave. Checked voltage and wiring and all good. Like new 1/0 cables about 18” long. I also put a load tester on the 150 AH battery and it tests good. I’ve been told to only operate a thruster in short bursts, like 3 seconds. When you say yours goes for 3 minutes before cutout, is that 3 minutes of short bursts or continuous under load? Thanks for the help.

It is rated for 3 minutes continuous use. I have never had to run it anywhere near that long, probably the longest I have run it for at one time is about 30 seconds. Usually only need about 3 to 5 seconds because it is oversized a bit so it really moves the stern quickly.

Maybe yours has an automatic cutout that shuts it down for a bit after 3 seconds... Don’t know, only way to find out may be finding a manual on it. I am not familiar with your brand thruster.