Old 08-19-2021, 07:40 AM   #1

City: South Easton
Vessel Name: Winters Obsession
Vessel Model: Mainship Mark 1
79 Mainship Mark 1 thoughts

So I am new to TF but not new to boating. I am considering a 79 Mk1 that has been sitting covered in shrink wrap for 10 years. The hull seems solid and I am told the motor was ok when winterized. Interior is in marginal shape. Everything else is unknown. The decks ad bridge floors seem solid but I didn't spend alot of time looking. Thoughts on what its worth? The bridge seats are poor condition.
Doodie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 07:56 AM   #2
Guru

City: Owings, Md
Vessel Name: Graceland
Vessel Model: Mainship 34 MK1
If it were in running condition, ready to go with the decks pretty solid (not necessarily perfect) I would say $30-35K in this market but a boat that has been sitting around for 10 years is bound to need some work in bringing it back online, new batteries, probably cleaning the fuel tanks, random other systems needing attention, I would start at $20k unless the seller is offering to bring the boat up to speed.

My two cents, I just bought a 1980 mark I for $28K this springs, it was in average condition and I have spend about $8k on it since bringing it up to speed but it still needs attention to the decks. I overpaid a bit in this crazy market but no regrets (so far).
Gdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 08:17 AM   #3

City: New Smyrna Beach, Fl. & Scottsboro, Al.
Vessel Name: Salty Dog & Last Dragon
Vessel Model: Gulfstar 47 Sailmaster & Mainship 34 MK 1