Marine Trader Double Cabin 34' Handling in Rough Waters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BillZe

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Migration
Vessel Make
Marine Trader 34 Double Cabin Yacht Trawler
Can anyone tell me how a Marine Trader 34' Double Cabin handles in rough seas? I have a Sea Ray Sundancer 290 now and am transitioning to a MT DC and was curious if anyone could give me some insight for how the boat reacts to a day out with some rougher seas.

Greetings,
Mr. B. Depends on what you consider rough. We had a MT 34' DC for 10 years. From what I recall, she did not like following seas greater than 2'. She also did not have enough speed to accomplish wave surfing so she would wallow and yaw but THAT could be MY inexperience. Not too wet in a head sea up to 3'. I might also add, I'm not terribly adept at estimating wave heights.
I have no experience with a SR 290 so I can't offer any comparison.

Thank you. My Sea Ray goes up and then "bangs" coming down. I was told that a Mainship Trawler 34' plows through and doesn't bang. I was curious if the MT DC reacted in rougher waters. I am not looking to go out in a storm or anything crazy, but it would be nice to not have to wait for the ocean to be like glass to go out in it.

i'm new to mine(it a 38 if it makes any difference) .but any sizable chop on the beam and you need every thing locked down. no bang in head seas maybe 3 feet but some spray on lower helm windows decks soaked.