What is this on my Lehman?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PennBruce

Vessel Name
Last Hurrah
Vessel Make
Ta Chiao/CT35 Sun Deck
Can anyone tell what function this serves?

This is a tap off the rear of the Lehman.

Fitting 1B.jpg

The hose runs to this pump. The pump has an on/off rocker switch to the left.

Fitting 2.jpg

The pump then connects to these filters.

Fitting 3.jpg

Thanks,

Bruce

I'm not a Lehman expert, but the 1st picture looks like the mechanical fuel pump. The other pump might be to prime the filters and / or be a backup to the mechanical fuel pump. Following the hoses should give you the fuel direction and path.

Ted

The hose runs from the engine to the pump then to the filters. I had assumed that the direction of flow was from the engine.

Bruce

Ford Lehman mechanical (lift) fuel pump

Attachments

• 208cc17f4740c9c44bd0df7928b473e6.jpg
    208cc17f4740c9c44bd0df7928b473e6.jpg
    124.5 KB · Views: 43
Assuming the first picture is the fuel pump, where does the other hose go to? The injector pump?

Ted

The little hose (maybe metal pipe) out the top foes to the secondary filters which are usually right above it.

Maybe someone mounted the secondary filters on the wall.

Ted

Two votes for it being a fuel pump. Your picture shows a much more robust fuel hose then mine.

Is the mechanical fuel pump drawing fuel from the filters on the bulkhead and feeding the injectors? If so, what is the purpose of the switched pump on the bulkhead?

I have lot to learn about the fuel system on this boat. It has two fuel tanks and a "day" tank.

I appreciate the input.

Thanks,

Bruce

Ford Lehman mechanical (lift) fuel pump