MA900 Racor - Should I Install Shutoff Valve?lve

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sammy999

Going to change the filter on my Racor MA900 and found that I have the brass drain plug below the clear bowl. My question is should I buy and Install the twist shutoff valve to drain any visible water? Also, when changing the filter should I drain about a quarter inch of fuel as a matter of practice even though there is no evidence of water separation? Obviously I'm a novice at this:). Thanks!!

I like having the petcock drain valve on the bottom, makes it much easier to drain water if there is any. Keep in mind if you pur a petcock in it should have a cap on the output just in case the petcock gets opened by accident. I use the Racor brand, a bit more expensive but not that much. I also mount an LED light behind the bowl and you are able to see what is in the bowl easily.

Attachments

• 12927C16-051A-4312-9690-F144AD627D8D.jpg
    12927C16-051A-4312-9690-F144AD627D8D.jpg
    104.6 KB · Views: 33
I recommend you have your system reworked a bit.
Duel Racor filters with a vacuum gauge and valving to switch filters.
Also, an alarm for 'water in fuel'.
While you are spending money, get a fuel polishing system. Reverso makes a nice 'clean' installation as is their oil change system.

Last edited:
It seems the brass petcock valves always drip. I put 4 brand new Racor ones in and they all seeped, just like the old ones. I prefer the plastic ones because of that, they make a solid seal. Yes, drain a little before lifting the filter out, prevents sloshing over. You have to loosen the cap to let air in or it won't drain.

Shortly after buying my boat, I upgraded my 900FA to the 900MA configuration (heat shields, etc), and installed the drain valves at the same time.