residential stove on trawler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kazenza

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Sea Rover
Vessel Make
CT 40 / Hartley Motor Sailor
I'm considering installng a home propane range on my trawler. I would like opinions and thoughts from others that have used residential stoves on their boats.

I have no propane experience. But, if I were in your shoes, the first check I would make would be with my insurance company. Are there certain standards/certifications that need to be met by a stove used in a marine environment in order for you to know that the insurance company will actually pay out the event of a fire or explosion?

Folks have installed them but care and work is required.

Fiddles to keep pots from sliding off , or at least mounts for springs to keep pots in place , as even anchored in a quiet cone , idiots run boats.

The range is always best against a bulkhead ,not the hull, as an errant pot going left or right is less hassle than one coming tight at you.

Many marine ranges have different style operating valves , the valve turns on to full high and rotating lowers the flame to an adjustable minimum . The minimum flame is one that wont blow out with a port or hatch open.

The propane solenoid should be hooked to both a mechanical timer , an off on switch ,and a light of some sort to remind you the range is o

A 2 hour timer is no big deal , even with a big dinner.

The oven should have a pilot light hooked with the thermostat for operation.

Can it be done , sure , but its a bit of a hassle.

Last edited:
Higher end yacht builders have been installing residential appliances for years. A popular choice has been dual-fuel ranges with propane hobs and electric oven. I recall seeing JemnAire ranges on many mid-sized Nordhavns. Custom fiddle racks around the range top were often fabricated.