Time for new batteries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sailormike

Vessel Name
Miss Dot Dee
Vessel Make
1980 29' Prairie Trawler
I know i'm about to open a can of worms but i will go ahead and do it. Our group 31 blue top opitma's are finally going south after 12 years of use. I would like to go back agm we have 2 banks of 3 batteries in parallel. Please let me know should i go back with optima or is there better.

I know i'm about to open a can of worms but i will go ahead and do it. Our group 31 blue top opitma's are finally going south after 12 years of use. I would like to go back agm we have 2 banks of 3 batteries in parallel. Please let me know should i go back with optima or is there better.

If you got 12 years out of them, why would you try something else. Stick with them.

I have no experience with the blue top batteries for a house bank, but am a big fan of the red top Optimas for engine batteries and my bow thruster. As others have said, your not likely to improve on that longevity, so why would you try something else.

Ted

I have no experience with the blue top batteries for a house bank, but am a big fan of the red top Optimas for engine batteries and my bow thruster. As others have said, your not likely to improve on that longevity, so why would you try something else.

Ted

A lot could have changed in 12 years in regards to technology ect. an i figured there are people on here changing batteries every day. But i was leaning to go back with optima but before i did I figured I would as the question

A lot could have changed in 12 years in regards to technology ect. an i figured there are people on here changing batteries every day. But i was leaning to go back with optima but before i did I figured I would as the question

I think you're wise to look at your options.