Super capacitors vs batteries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
My son touts thier future....he has seen them in action at substations.

The future is racing towards us, should be intetesting

I talked an engineer who has been using surplus capacitors instead of batteries in his home solar system. Said he had years of reliable service and better performance for a fraction of the price.

Since then I have wondered about using capacitors in electric cars, etc.

Fluoride may be controversial.

We put fluoride on our teeth, why not in our batteries?

Blamed for cancer and bone issues. I'm no expert and haven't paid it enough attention to give you a useful answer but the controversy goes back seventy years or so. Part of it had to do with the nuclear energy industry and part was the earlier lack of controls, precision and accuracy in mixing with water. I saw a mixer in the early nineties, it was impressive. Looked like something from an operating room. And of course the pervasive, ubiquitous perception that all chemicals cause cancer.

Alum was the drinking water treatment that I found most repulsive. Treat mud with mud.

The topic of water treatment could easily be a lifelong pursuit.

Last edited:
Its unconventional but it works excellent for starting engines. Charge up the cap from the house bank when needed. Allows a bigger house bank. Some day in the near future, the car starter battery will be replaced with a lightweight capacitor and the charging battery will be the size of a pack of smokes or smaller.

Yep; dont want to brush your teeth with soluble uranium tetrafluoride (UF4).

Said in jest, but the issue is more of the unintended consequences of industry.

The most likely replacement for LA batterys will have a nano carbo fluid that carries the charge.