Hello, newbie from Florida here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AKBuddy

Hello everyone,

I am new to boating and am interested in buying a trawler for a live aboard as well as cruising the Bahamas and Caribbean. I figured this is a good place to do some research and figure out what exactly I want. If you have any advice on where I can read up and gain some knowledge please let me know! I'm about to start a year long Marine Technology program to become a marine mechanic, so I plan on gaining the experience necessary to do most of the engine maintenance and repairs myself.

Thank you!

Okay another Floridian, We are taking over :dance:

Welcome aboard.

You might start your education by attending a Trawler Fest. Climb on board as many boats as possible and attend the lectures. Then maybe charter a mid size trawler with a captain if necessary. Southwest Florida Yachts has a good selection.

David

New Floridian member

Hello,
We are new to the site and are currently looking to purchase a 38' Carlifornian to live on part-time (Fri-Sunday) until we retire. Do not have access to a bigger slip right now. Then we hope to trade up to a bigger boat.

Where is this Trawler Fest you speak of? That would be fantastic.

Welcome Nora. Had a friend that lived on a Californian 38 for about 25 years. Worked very well for them until a hurricane took the boat.

Hello Comodave:

Thank you for the info. Nice to know we aren't that crazy for trying to live on 38'. Just out of curiosity, was it a hurricane in Florida?

Nora

Where is this Trawler Fest you speak of? That would be fantastic.

TrawlerFest is a series of boat shows- used and new as well as seminars on cruising topics sponsored by Passagemaker Magazine. The next one is in September in Baltimore- https://www.passagemaker.com/trawlerfest