Oil Analysis....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dhays

Guru
Vessel Name
Kinship
Vessel Make
North Pacific 43
I've not done oil analysis before. When I had the boat surveyed oil analysis was part of the that survey. Since then, my engine was replaced with a Cummins Reman. I changed the oil in that engine for the first time a couple weeks ago and took oil samples and sent them off to Blackstone.

My thought was that with a new engine, if I start doing samples now I will be able to spot trouble/trends. While I was at it I had the genset oil tested as well.

Since I've never done it before and since I know nothing about engines of any kind (sad but true) I thought I'd look to TF for some input. Here is the analysis for my Cummins. The oil Cummins used was the Valvoline Premium Blue. What I replaced it with was the Delo 400 LE that I've used in my original engine and genset.

The report seemed generally positive. They recommended going to 180 hours and then checking again. One of the questions I have is Cummins recommends oil change at 250 hours or 3 months. Yeah, I'm not going to change the oil every 3 months and I have been putting about 200 hours on the engine a year. So if I do check the oil at 180 hours and they say go another 100 hours, at what point does the oil simply age out?

Attachments

• Oil_Analysis_redact_00001.pdf
    23.9 KB · Views: 78
We had the same problem last year- we only ran 400 miles (70ish hours). We still changed the oil and filter. I guess it's a habit left over from when we'd winterize a boat, living in new England.....

Sorry, no science to back it up

Your oil report looks good. I would change the oil at Cummins hour intervals but not worry about the three month interval. That is probably for the long distance trucker who put lots of hours on their engines.