What Bow Thuster should I get

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RickyD

Guru
Vessel Name
Aquarius
Vessel Make
Californian 55 CPMY
I'm planning on adding a bow thruster to my 55' Californian. I'm looking at Sidepower. I'm curious about recommendations for HP. Also, I have 12vdc systems.

I’d give Imtra Corp. a call. They distribute Sidepower in the US. I did business with them for at least forty years before I retired. They give first class customer service and have knowledgeable people working the phones.
Imtra | Boating, Transportation, Energy & Marine Products

I’m not an expert on thrusters but my gut tells me you may want to figure out how to get 24v or hydraulic power to a Thruster on that size boat.

+1 on the 24 volt thruster. We put a Sidepower stern thruster on our boat last year. Love it. Had an issue with the wireless remote control. Sopke to the tech that repairs them, he was really bad at customer service. Asked for a manager and explained the issue, he took care of it to my complete satisfaction. I will be putting a Sidepower bow thruster in at some point. My wife has had 4 shoulder surgeries and can’t pull on the lines too well so the bow thruster will make her life docking much easier.

Well we have been boating for 50 years. As we get older and have less strength and flexibility anything that can lenghten our boating life and make it easier and safer sounds good to me. Some will say that thrusters are not needed, but that is their choice. We are choosing differently. Neither choice is right or wrong in absolute terms, but whatever works for an individual is the right choice.