Dinghy Tow

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Davb1947

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Molly
Vessel Make
Albin 36
Anybody else have one of these?

From Davron Marine Products. Davron Marine Products (Dinghy-Tow)

Tows dinghy with stern first, out of water, dinghy bow in the water.

Seems to work well, but I have very little experience with it.

Attachments

• D88A2A9D-27DA-4461-920E-4C1B1E16F5F8.jpg
    D88A2A9D-27DA-4461-920E-4C1B1E16F5F8.jpg
    113 KB · Views: 193
  • CF3DC1B2-7D39-4C1B-81AA-405C1CA9915C.jpg
    CF3DC1B2-7D39-4C1B-81AA-405C1CA9915C.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 187
Interesting idea. Would like to see some videos of it underway. No pricing on the web site.

Interesting to see what happens in a following sea. :eek:

We see a lot of tows in B.C. but not backwards....

Interesting to see what happens in a following sea. :eek:

Exactly! Following seas at displacement speeds seem like they would cause havoc and quartering seas off of the stern seems like it would be harder on everything yet.
I think weavers are the better option...all in the air or none.

It would be awful. Water in the bow has no way to get out.
And, huge forces generated by crossing seas. :banghead:

Well the product has been around for 20 years.... given the deisgn, I can see how it would do just fine in all but the very most severe conditions, that few would be out in the first place.

I haven’t used it but I’m thinking it’s saving grace will be that there is very, very little in the water.

It looks interesting, I have never seen this concept before.

I always back into transient slips, could cause some concerns doing that.

pete

As posted earlier this thread and I have in several other threads, more common with sail but goes back decades.