Solar panels and Radar

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ksceviour

Vessel Name
Moderation
Vessel Make
Sea Lord 35
We purchased a solar system at the boat show this year with the intention of placing them on the top of our fly-bridge enclosure. These are the light weight flexible kind that are increasingly showing up on bimini tops these days.

My wife recently raised the question of radar interference from solar panels installed in front of and slightly below the radar antenna. I've got 30 years experience in using radar but I've never had an array with highly reflective solar panels in front of them.

My own thoughts are any interference would be negligible considering the beams narrow splay that close to the boat and the panels being on the same plane.

Thoughts? Experience?

Look up the beam width of your radar, and make a small to scale drawing and see if it is within that beam angle.

I am not sure but suspect unless you have a broadband radar, the panels would be in the main bang radius and wouldn't interfere.

But then again, the panels would be blocking targets...expand the drawing and see just how far out.

Last edited:
I'd be more concerned about shadowing on the panels reducing their efficiency than the attenuation of radar signal from the panels. If the frame supporting your FB canvas doesn't interfere, I wouldn't think the panels on top of the frame would have an effect.

Be aware of the need for solar panel cooling air.

Good points both. Typical beams are 25 degrees vertically on a Raymarine digital system which gives 12.5 degrees down from the arrays center. At 7 feet the manufacturer says this equates to about 20 degrees above and below the element. That would probably catch the pulpit 20 feet out. With the forward panel edge less than 6 feet in front of the arch I don't see it catching much, if any of the panels.