Mainship 34 battery setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newbernbuck

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Finale
Vessel Make
Rosborough RF246 Custom Pilothouse 2000
Hello group,

Curious about how others have their batteries setup on their MS 34 trawlers.
Mainly the number and sizes. I recently bought a 1982 MS34 MK1.
Mine has a genset, bowthruster, and an inverter (not connected at present).
The battery box located under lower steering station seems to be sized for one 4D or 8D battery.
Currently I have 4 batteries spread about the boat: 1 forward for bowthruster, 1 for genset, and 2 batteries in the battery box under lower steering station (1 start, 1 house). All are group 24 except 1 group 27 house.
Want to hear what others have done before I make any changes.
Thanks everyone,

I had the same setup, but without the bow thruster. I'm not an expert on batteries, but I do know the house and starter batteries were big ones and the genset battery, which was located under the cockpit hatch, was a car starter battery.

MS 34 Batt'y / Charging Arrangement

Hello group,

Curious about how others have their batteries setup on their MS 34 trawlers...

Want to hear what others have done before I make any changes.
Thanks everyone,

newb...

Here's a link to a previous post that shows what I have on my '08 MS 34HT.
MS 34 HT Charging System Mods

I have 3 8D's - 2 start / house and 1 thrusters (B & S)
The links include schematics etc. I also have a Gen w/ a separate Gp 24/27 batt'y.
The write up includes some rationale for separating it from the other charging circuits as I didn't like the diode isolators MS installed.

Seems to me our '87 Mk III had one 8D on the starboard side (i.e., under the lower helm) and that doubled as start and house. And then we had a genset start battery, probably Group 24-ish or 27-ish back under the cockpit with the generator.