new to the forum

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

John P

Hi I am new to the forum even though I have been lurking for a few weeks. I live close to lake Erie in ohio I was looking into a bigger boat but it is not possible at this time. that being said i was wondering about chartering a boat in maine next summer what should i expect to pay for a week and how much expierience do i need? i have been sailing a 25 ft sailboat for several years and I had a 20 ft sailboat before that. I would like to charter something like a grand banks 32 or36. where is the least expensive place in maine to charter that size boat? google comes up with a bunch of big corporation charter places and want around 3000 a week is that realistic? thanks for helping the new guy out. *~John

Hello and Welcome,

Sounds about right.
Don't forget you are looking to rent a $100,000.00 + boat.
Once you do all the add on's that is about what the cost comes to.

That being said you could look into a 6 pack cruise with the owner of the boat.
Not sure how you would go about that short of walking the docks in Main.

Good Luck

SD

You might want to take a look in the Chesepeake area. Blue Goose Charters out of Baltimore will rent a trawler for $1,500-$2,000 a week. Very interesting waters to explore and probably more "user friendly" than Maine.

The Grand Banks charter outfit in our marina has two GB36s in its fleet. Both are mid-'90s boats One is a Sedan the other is a Classic (tri-cabin). The Sedan charters for $3,500 a week in the high-season, $2,500 in the low season. The Classic charters for $4,200 in the high season, $3,100 in the low season.

This company has had GB32s in its charter fleet in the past but I haven't seen any on their dock for some time now so I don't know what a typical charter price for this particular model might be.