Leaking Fuel Tank on 1981 Mainship 34 II

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wi4x4man

Vessel Name
Iron Horse
Vessel Make
1981 Mainship 34II
Greetings all,

This forum is new to me, so I am a newbie here, but I am not a newbie when it comes to boats.

The reason I decided to post is becuase of a recent issue and I have not been having luck finding the root cause of the problem... Here goes:

I keep my boat up in Saxon Harbor, WI. As anyone who plies the waters of the Great Lakes knows (and Lake Superior in particular) the ice is finally starting to go away and winter appears to have lost her grip. So it wasn't until Friday of last week that I was able to get the cover off of my baby and start to get her ready for the year. I did the usual things, checked every square inch of her, started to clean, and etc. I noticed a little bit of red fluid by the rudder shaft, but otherwise nothing. As I did some steering work last year, I just chalked it up to steering fluid as it did not exactly smell like diesel.

Then on Sunday night, I got a call from the Harbor Master saying that my boat is leaking fuel! :eek: So Monday (yesterday) morning I zoomed up there to find out what is going on, and sure enough there was fuel held between the stringers and was seeping down into the bilge, and then through the drain in the keel. In all total, about two gallons (give or take a few ounces) had leaked out.

Thinking it was fuel lines, I checked those. There were not any leaks in any of the fuel lines, all as dry as a bone. Sure enough, it must be the tank! I pumped the tank dry, cleaned everything up, and of course the leaking stopped. I have been wracking my brain trying to figure out what the heck is going on and more importantly, why did it suddenly start to leak the day after I started to get her ready.