Best Smaller Boat for Bay Area

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

richard r

I'm a newbie and this is my first post. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Seeking recommendations for a first trawler.

I'm a former small sailboat (Cal 20) owner who has moved back to the Bay Area after 20 years away and am considering buying a trawler, which is much more suited to my current age. I've never had a power boat and my knowledge of marine engines is limited to outboard motors. But I do miss being on the Bay.

I'd love to find something without a flybridge and ladder that has a good-size saloon and master suite. Fiberglass construction is important, as is good handling in the stiff breezes and chop of San Francisco Bay. I've been advised to get either twin diesels only -- for safety -- or a single diesel only, as it's more economical and one engine is sufficient. A cruising speed of 7 or 8 knots is fine, as i'm not contemplating any long-range cruising.

A handsome design from a respected maker would be a big plus. Is there an obvious choice that I should know about that also is a good value? Grand Banks yachts are beautiful but are out of my price range.

What size do you suggest? 36 feet, 40, 42?

Any guidance will help. I just started looking with a local yacht broker. He knows his boats but I don't.

Many thanks,

Richard