Biggest Boat for Single Handing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irdiverdan

Veteran Member
Hey guys I am fairly new to the forum, which by the way is awesome!!!...:thumb:...I am planning on my retirement in a few years and am looking to embrace the cruising/liveaboard lifestyle. I have extensive boating experience in 22' to 28' foot center consoles, cuddy cabins, outboards, inboards etc. but no experience with trawlers...My question may be hard to answer due to it being dependent on many factors, but in general, based on your experience what do you consider to be the biggest boat that can safety handled singlehandedly?

I am not an expert because it's unlikely I will ever single-hand long term, BUT I would suspect that it's less about size and more about access to the decks and surround from the helm. Look at pilothouse trawlers with big side doors and good all around visibility. Being able to quickly get out, throw a line or two, and get back to the helm, I would think is the biggest factor.

I can single hand the Eagle. As mentioned before its more of a factor of maneuverability of the boat and the helm being close/easy access to the dock. On bigger boats 95% of the docking is done at the helm. When out an about I set the Eagle on auto pilot and don’t have to touch the helm for hours. The biggest probelm I have is staying allert/awake!. :D

Single Handing a boat is all about docking. Once underway, unless a specific boat system requires two people, then most recreational boats can be single handed.

Docking only becomes a issue when dealing with a wind that blows the boat away from the dock. In calm conditions, or conditions where the boat is being blown into the dock, single handing a boat is no issue.