Old 04-03-2019, 08:07 PM   #1

City: St Petersburg
Vessel Name: Knot Fast
Vessel Model: Great Harbour GH37
Great Harbour Community

Gainesville, FL - Capt. Dave here, reporting in from the 2-4Apr19 Mirage Manufacturing Technical Seminar and the Great Harbour Trawler Association Annual Members’ Meeting. I am a newbie, 7 months into my GH37 ownership, so this is my first annual meeting of our Association.

Mirage has both kindly provided their boatyard as our venue and conducted many of the technical classes. We have reviewed systems and best maintenance practices. Mirage provided a nice mix of how to manage our 10- to 20-year old plumbing, electric and fiberglass (their strength). New technology has been presented on safety systems and cell/internet connectivity. As the new owner of an 18 year old 37’ twin diesel trawler, it is great to be able to interact with the builder and have them as a continuing resource. I give Mirage an “A” for their efforts and support.

Even better, is the ability to interact with 60 owners from 31 Great Harbour trawlers in attendance at our 3-day gathering. Some are original owners with 15+ years’ experience. Most owners have been operating their GH37, N37, GH47 or N47 for 5-10 years. At the kids table, are the newbies like me! My understanding is that about 60 of these boats have been built. That over half are attending the annual meeting is remarkable. A TT35 owner or 2 are also present. Meeting these kind folks and talking about their traveling adventures in these amazing vessels has been inspiring.