RE: Sales Tax Boat Purchase
I stand corrected; for non residents visiting Washington it is 60 days, not 90 days, and the option to purchase additional 60 day permits as Sealegs states below. For current residence, it's 15 days to register.
Trying to get around the sales tax or use tax laws can be tricky. *Sales tax is based on the sales price of the vessel and can be quite a few bucks. But generally the use tax on a used vessel isn't as bad, as the book values they use are pretty low.
From DOL website:
"Fair market value reflects the value of a vehicle according to the retail selling price at the place of use, compared to similar vehicles of like quality or character. The actual selling price may or may not be the same as the average fair market value in cases when an individual sells a used vehicle or vessel"
"Use tax is a tax on items used in Washington when sales tax hasnt been paid. When you purchase a vehicle or vessel from a private party, youre required by law to pay use tax when the vehicle or vessel title is transferred."
'Goods are purchased in another state that does not have a sales tax or a state with a sales tax lower than Washingtons. For example, items you purchase in Oregon that are used in Washington are subject to use tax.Use tax is determined on the value of the goods when first used in Washington. Generally, this is the purchase price. However, a depreciated value may be determined if the goods are used outside the state for a lengthy time before use in Washington by the same person.'