Old 11-23-2019, 05:36 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Placida, FL
Vessel Name: No Regrets
Vessel Model: Swift Trawler 44
New ST-44 Owner (almost... Delivery in January)

I recently ordered a new Swift Trawler 44. The boat is currently in transit to the US for delivery in January. Hull #302 - I guess this may be one of the last ST-44s being built as I hear Beneteau has discontinuing the ST-44 model in favor of the new 41?

As I am new to the Trawler world... I would appreciate any advice regarding the boat, taking delivery, critical maintenance, trawler events/trips, best places to cruise/visit (SW-FL/Keys/Bahamas), etc...

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide...
nhislander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 05:47 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard. Don’t know much about that particular boat, but I am assuming it will be nice so congrats.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 07:22 PM   #3
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
Since you are paying close to a half million for that boat, I would hire a surveyor to do a complete survey and sea trial once it arrives, is commissioned and turned over to you by the dealer. On the seatrial make sure that the boat is propped correctly.

If you can hold the last payment until afterwards, so much the better.

I assume that you are taking delivery in Florida. I am in SW Florida, so if I can help, PM me.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 07:32 PM   #4

City: FL
Vessel Model: Benneteau Swift 42
Congrats
lipets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 11:58 PM   #5
Guru

City: Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Vessel Name: Capricorn
Vessel Model: Mariner 30 - Sedan Cruiser 1969