Old 09-16-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: San Diego
Cat 3208 - too much for the boat?

Hello

My wife and I are long time sailors with a fair amount of long distance cruising and live aboard experience. As I sneak thru my seventh decade of life I occasionally think that a nice big trawler would be less work and more comfortable. My wife has been convinced of that idea for years.

We are very interested in a DeFever 61 (80000#, 60’ LWL, 17’ beam) with a pair of Caterpillar 3208 (375 HP) engines. The engines have a little over 5700 hours on them. The previous 20+ year owners were meticulous in their maintenance.

I have a lot of experience with 35 – 120 HP diesels but no experience with larger and more manly diesels. I have done a LOT of reading about higher horsepower engines and have a couple questions about surveys, inspection, usage.

I have a computer program, based on Frank Beebe’s formulas, which calculates required horsepower delivered THROUGH the prop to the water to move the boat at a given speed.

My program results/predictions verify very well with data I collected in 1000 miles of operating a 60,000 pound 53’ trawler in the Sea of Cortez. That boat had a pair of Lehman 120s installed and carefully adjusted FloScans. The FloScan data was within about 5% of the calculated data based on refueling after a little over 1000 miles.

I have over 2000 engine hours of data for our sailboat with a Yanmar 4JH2E and the program data is within a few percent of that measured data.

I have used a chart produced by Caterpillar that shows prop HP –vs- Crank HP to determine 3208 engine speed –vs- Prop HP and calculated boat speed. The 375 HP engines are E-rated.

Three such data points for prop power and associated engine power are:

HP Delivered to water – Knots – RPM – Crank HP (375 HP engine)

51 HP – 7.9 Knots – 1325 RPM - 2.5 GPH - ~175 HP
73 HP – 8.7 Knots - 1500 RPM - 3.4 GPH - ~210 HP
111 HP – 9.4 Knots - 1750 RPM - 4.0 GPH - ~230 HP

QUESTIONS: