Yanmar 370

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pluto

Vessel Name
Hot Shot
Vessel Make
Mainship 390
I am shopping for a boat and I recently saw an ad for a 2002 or 3 Mainship with a 370 HP Yanmar. The add said the owner had just replaced the injectors and turbo to the tune of 8K. The engine had less than 1100 hours on it.

I have never owned a diesel inboard and I hope some of you more knowledgeable folks will tell me. Is it common for such a low time engine to have these kind of problems? I was under the impression that Yanmars would run forever.

Thanks for any info.

I am no diesel mechanic, but am a pretty good shade tree mechanic who does my own maintenance on my Yanmar 370. And I am an avid participant in the marine diesel forum boatdiesel.

The pros who hang out there say that injectors rarely need to be replaced but many mechanics do it anyway. They should last for thousands of hours.

Turbos also rarely fail in normal operation. But many boats are built with an exhaust system that allows seawater to back up and ruin them and sometimes the entire engine.

Modern, high output marine diesels do require more maintenance than simply changing the oil to keep them running well. The intercooler needs to be serviced periodically otherwise it can fail and flood the engine with seawater. The boat must be propped right otherwise the engine will overload.

If such an engine is maintained right, and it won't necessarily be cheap particularly if you have a mechanic do it, then these engines can last for thousands, maybe 10,000 hours.

And FWIW I wouldn't brag about spending $8,000 on a turbo and injectors. Other than the obvious concern that the exhaust system is faulty and that the injectors were replaced needlessly, it is way too much money even at $100/hr mechanics rates.

PM me if you find a boat that you are serious about and I will try to help with the engine.