Old 10-08-2019, 08:45 PM   #1
Guru

City: Friday Harbor, WA USA
Vessel Name: FORTITUDE
Vessel Model: Kadey Krogen 54-8
Synthetic Oil in Older Engines (Tested)

Found this on YouTube. Seems like a comprehensive and compelling dispute of the popular notion that you can’t use modern synthetic oil in older diesel engines.

https://youtu.be/Pa4RwsiZUmI
Airstream345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 01:47 PM   #2
Guru

City: Edgewater, MD
Vessel Name: Catalina Jack
Vessel Model: Defever 44
I have been using synthetic oil on my 36 year-old Lehmans for five years. No leaks.
catalinajack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:03 PM   #3
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
Heck my Lehman leaks oil even after I have taken out the oil for a change...
psneeld is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:18 PM   #4
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Mr. A. Thanks. I've watched a number of this fellow's videos and quite enjoy them. As he said, his test had a data base of one so synthetic seems to work for him.

We run Lehman 120's and I've always used Rotella (T-?). I really can't see the advantage(s) of switching to synthetic given our engines do not seem to be running in "extreme" conditions and the oil is changed every 100 hrs. Not worried about leakage as Mr. ps notes, they DO leak/seep.

I suppose the bottom line is; is a recreational boater getting his/her money's worth with the extra cost for the synthetic? Can one extend oil changes to say...200hrs. or 300hrs? What about the injector pump? Any potential damage if one uses synthetic?
Old 10-09-2019, 03:25 PM   #5
Guru

City: Rochester, NY
Vessel Name: Hour Glass
Vessel Model: Chris Craft 381 Catalina
If you aren't planning to run long changes and the engines don't run super high oil temps or have other conditions known for being hard on oil, then synth probably isn't worth it.