Old 03-09-2017, 09:30 PM   #1

City: Crockers Boat Yard, New London, CT
Vessel Name: General's Quarters
Vessel Model: 2005 Mainship 430 Aft Cabin Trawler
Stuffing Box Gland and Hose Maintenance

Hi,

About a year ago we purchased a 2015 Mainship 430 Aft Cabin Trawler with approximately 1500 hours.

We do not have complete maintenance records and do not know if the stuffing box gland was ever replaced. We adjusted the stuffing box tension several times over the summer and it continued to drip, more or less, but mostly more. Based on the looks of the clamps and hoses, I am thinking I need to replace the packing, as well as the hose and clamps.

Pics are located here:

http://s258.photobucket.com/user/lak...ffing.jpg.html

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/h...20Stuffing.jpg

I have no experience in this, but believe I should and can do this before the boat goes in the water. When I search on YouTube, I have not found anything useful other than to replace the packing glands.

Does anyone have any tips, pics, or videos as to how to take this apart and change the packing gland the hoses as well?

I much appreciate any assistance.

Jim

jimL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 09:42 PM   #2
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
I have no idea what the service life of the hose is but it looks fine to me. Replacement of the hose will require that you slide the shaft far enough aft to slide the new hose over the end of the shaft. This means removing the shaft from the coupling. As far as the packing goes, it's not a major undertaking to remove the old packing and replace with new and can be done with the prop shaft in place.

Old 03-09-2017, 10:02 PM   #3
Guru

City: Brookline, NH
Vessel Name: Blue Heaven
Vessel Model: Albin 43 classic double cabin, twin 135 Lehmans