Old 05-24-2019, 09:16 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Saint Petersburg
Star-Lord, Electric Trawler Conversion

Hello, this is my first post on this forum.

I just bought this derelict 1972 43' Gulfstar with plans to convert it to electric drive.

I made a video walk through of the boat and discuss some of my plans.

My first milestone is to get the engines pulled, remove the fly bridge and refinish the bottom side. Then tow the project to my dock where the electric drive conversion will begin.

I have some blister repair, glass over the exhaust ports, some through hole fittings to replace.

I hope the 8kw diesel generator on board is salvageable.

I will then purchase two wrecked Toyota Prius for drive train and electrical parts. I have some experience hacking the motor inverters with some EV projects.

It is conceivable that I could have a diesel electric proof of concept for very little money not counting my time.

If all goes as planned then I will install the solar array. I have a plan to fit 15 300W panels for 4.5kW of solar. The solar may also be used to power my home when the boat is docked.

Last step in the project will be a large battery bank. Probably over 100kwh of tesla battery modules. The batteries will likely be the most expensive part of the project but I have a few options.

P.S. I own and Tesla and Chevy Volt and I am a hard core electric vehicle enthusiast. I may be a bit delusional but that is my style.

Thanks
Jeff

Star-Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:27 AM   #2
Guru

City: Gloucester, MA
Sounds like a fun project. I look forward to following. And once you are done and running for a while, Iíll be interested to hear where and how you see an electric boat like this fitting in the market. What sort of usage is practical and/or advantageous for electric

Old 05-24-2019, 09:33 AM   #3
Guru

City: Atlanta