Sp225

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hello all,
I'm new to the Trawler forum.
I'm looking at a Monk 36 with twin SP225 Lehmans.
I've had difficulty getting a good review of these motors as they are not as plentiful as the 120's and 135's. Does anyone out there have first hand experience they can share with them. Strengths and weaknesses. These motors are 30 years old with 1200 original hours. But they appear to be spotlessly clean. I haven't seen them in person or heard them as of yet. I just want to know what I may or may not be getting into. They are of course turbo charged. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I chose this forum to ask as I'm thinking a group of trawler folks are gonna have more experience with these particular lehmans than other forums.

Keith

We have two on our Present 38, 2700 and 2900 hours. We haven't put many hours on them, maybe 150-200. Other than leaks the only problem has been a corroded injection elbow.

I did find a reference to some issues with intake valves. Seems they used two different suppliers and one of them had a tendency to drop valve heads. We did get an engine survey. One engine had been documented that the head had been worked on but I showed the engine surveyor what to look for on the other engine.

Also if you do your own work, there is a mistake in the manual for doing valve adjustments.

Thanks for that Bob,

I'm presuming your SP225's are turbocharged. Have they proven to be reliable and cool well? I've heard they come on at about 1750 rpm. Is that what yours do? And do u get up above 1750 often. Do you think your fuel burn improves a lot with turbos kicked in?

Thanks for the insight on the valve adjustment. I'll look into it.

Keith

SP225 Lehman

Have a single SP225 in my 1985 PT35
With about 1800 hours.
Runs great. Rated at 2450 rpm wot.
I max out at about 2350.