Old 03-21-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Shaft Alignment Question

Hey All! I have my prop off for pitching/polishing and am thinking this would be a great time to "ballpark" align the shaft without the additional prop weight. I've never done it before. Here's where I'm running into myself: the shaft is currently supported through it's 15 ft. run by two (ancient) pillow block bearings. I'm thinking these would need to be removed before I align the shaft. Once aligned, how do I get the bearings right with the shaft and each other? The shaft runs slightly downward and the bearings (see enclosed pix) would need to be aligned to the shaft and each other. *Any iseas/suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
pillowblock.jpg   shaftlookingaft.jpg  
BelfastCruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
Guru

City: Bellingham, WA
Vessel Name: Happy Destiny
Vessel Model: Custom Lobster Yacht
RE: Shaft Alignment Question

I'm in with Carl on this one. If it ain't broke... * Just grease your pillow blocks and keep on cruising.
Carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 12:07 PM   #3
Guru

Yes I agree that you shouldn't dick with it but I only see the one yellow pillow block bearing.
The other looks like the shaft coupling attaching to the tranny.
jleonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 12:30 PM   #4
Grand Vizier

I'll join the other non experts in expressing the opinion that you should leave it alone unless you have some reason to believe it is out of alignment.

However, if you do want to fiddle, I don't think the pillow blocks are meant to be part of the alignment process.* I doubt they are needed for support except when the shaft is turning, and then they would keep it from oscillating.* They would have been put onto the shaft without attachment to stringers, and shimmed so as not to put any stress at all on the shaft when bolted down and secured.