Raw Water Pumps

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rochepoint

Guru
Vessel Name
Roche Point
Vessel Make
1985 Cheer Men PT38 Sedan
Looking for some input. After 27 years I have decided it is time to maybe replace the original raw water pump for a new one, the old pump is a Jabsco 9990-41. My question is and it maybe already answered in my mind but I thought I would see what others say. If you were to purchase a new pump would you buy a Jabsco or Sherwood pump. The Jabsco has 3/4" outlets and the Sherwood has 1" outlets for my Perkins, going bigger is not a problem. What would you do?:confused:

Is this a trick question? 27 years and you want a Sherwood??!!

Not a trick question, just wondering how good the larger Sherwood is, as I have no experience with them. Just wondering what other think of them.

Just curious--- Does Johnson make a pump for the Perkins? They do for the FL120 and it's a vast improvement over the finite-life Lehman raw water pump drive coupler. The stock Jabsco pump on the end of the drive coupler is okay and you can still get rebuild kits for it if not the whole pump new. But the drive coupler is a failure waiting to happen, and eventually it will. So says Bob Smith at American Diesel and he designed it. The coupler cannot be repaired successfully so the cure is to dump the coupler and the pump and install a new Johnson pump.

While the Johnson pump usually installed on an FL120 is 3/4" we had the 1" pump installed. Water flow was increased and most important, the running temperatures of the transmissions went down. The engine temps were unchanged due to the thermostats. But any time you can lower a transmission temperature it's a Good Thing in my opinion.

If Johnson makes a pump that fits the Perkins, based on our experience with their pumps that's the way I'd go.